Blue Cross Society Inaugurates a New Board


As the acting Clerk of the General Assembly of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana, Rev. Andrew T. Odjawo, Director for Ecumenical and Social Relations, has inaugurated a new Board of Directors for the Blue Cross of the Presbyterian Church of Ghana.


The Ghana Blue Cross Society, which will be 120 years in Ghana by 2026 is the oldest group in the PCG, formed in 1906 at Aburi. It was originally named in Akan, “Anidaho Fekuw” translated as “The Temperance Movement” by Dr. Rudolf Fisch a Basel Missionary.

The group is now known as the Ghana Blue Cross Society. It is affiliated with the International Blue Cross Society, a Swisserland-based international Christian Organisation with the core mission of fighting against alcoholism and other substance abuse in the world.

Blue Cross

Rev. Patrick Adjei Acheampong, the General Secretary of the Ghana Blue Cross Society explained that some underlying challenges have necessitated these major structural reforms.

He explained that there has been a review of the organogram for the Ghana Blue Cross Society to conform to the new dispensation of running the organization on the structures of PCG

Rev. Andrew Odjawo, the Ag. Clerk of GA commented that the Blue Cross Society is doing a lot in their mission to improve the lives of unfortunate persons addicted to alcohol and hard drugs. For improved work and service to mankind, its operation has undergone structural changes that have resulted in it being registered as one of the NGOs of the PCG.

The review of the Board and the constitutional structures of the Blue Cross Society by the GAC will help position the group in the proper context of the PCG structures and work.

Rev. Andrew Odjawo congratulated the Board Members on their appointment and renewed mandate to serve.

  1. The Rev. Daniel Amoako Nyarko (the President)
  2. The Rev. Dr. Gerorge Opare Kwapong (the GAC Rep.)
  3. The Rev. Dr. Emmanuel K. Sarbah (the M&E Director)
  4. Bernard Akrasi (the West Brong Presbytery President)
  5. The Rev. Paul Ohemeng Siaw (the Akyem Abuakwa Presbytery President)
  6. Donald Decker (the Ga West Presbytery President)
  7. Efuah Ayeyi Ansah Esq. (the Board Secretary)
  8. Patrick Adjei Acheampong (the General Secretary and Member in Attendance)
  9. The Director of Finance and Member in Attendance.

The Board pledged to serve faithfully and diligently to lift the vision and mission of the Ghana Blue Cross Society.


PR Unit



Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.